Discussion Metacritic's user scores have been completely broken for 𝘺𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘴.

Krvavi Abadas

Jan 22, 2019
Alright, here's the deal.
I've been researching the site's user scores since 2020, and had made an attempt to demonstrate the issue that February. Raising and lowering a couple of games over the course of a few hours.

(note how much change a simple doubling of the ratings can cause)
The problem? I let my feelings for a fictional character (Iris Sagan) take hold, and ended up dropping the score for her game over how it treats her. As a result, it was accidentally snuffed out by one of the developers. Causing Metacritic to take notice too early, and causing a general horde of harassment towards me from various "rant" Youtubers that cover Video Games. The fanbase for the game itself had already decided i was a horrible person for having feelings for a fictional character tho.

On it's own, this would have been just a simple mistake. Surely Metacritic would have fixed the exploits in question. Right?

They did not fix the exploits in question.

At the bare minimum, they added a 1 hour limit for creating new accounts per IP. and blocked a few temp e-mail services. But that was nowhere near enough.
and in fact, exactly four months later. A brand new review bombing incident was generated.

I really don't think i need to explain this further. But to put it simply, the game was highly controversial at launch due to various storyline decisions, and beyond the review-bombing, lead to a flood of harassment to pretty much everyone who worked on it. It feels like the perfect demonstration of the issues with MC's user scores and would have probably lead to a ton of changes if it was any other site.

Metacritic once again did the bare minimum.

Applying a simple timer to newly released games, and locking user scores for the first 48 hours.