Discussion What are you currently playing? (Week 35 of 2024)

Cacher

Romantic Storm
Jun 3, 2020
New week, new thread! What are you playing?

Upon finishing Watch Dogs 2 last week, I started playing Little Town Hero. For those who don't know, it is developed by Game Freak and it is on Steam.

The game never got discounted. Not even once. It is sitting at 64 on metacrtitic, and apparently it sold gangbuster on PC, with a stunning CCU reaching mere 11 players.

JRPG is false marketing because it should be identified as a card game like Slay the Spire. Enemy actions in each turn are labelled and players are expected to tackle them through every possible means. The unique feature is that the boss battle involves moving around the whole town like a board game with dice roll, and there are spaces where allies and useful gimmicks with different functions to assist you bringing down the boss.

It has many flaws and they show. RNG plays a big part in every battle. Sometimes I can bring down the enemies within fewer turns because of useful skills given at the start of some brutal turns or a good dice roll. In most cases boss battles are long fights which can last for over an hour with no save point in-between (and I am at chapter 3 only). At default difficulty (Hard) bosses really play unfairly and many of their buffs are brutal. There is no deck building but only a skill tree to upgrade the cards. The game is also obviously developed under tight manpower. Limited scope, reused assets, lacking QOL, bug... The PC "port" is a also a straight port with 30fps lock (use Lossless Scaling) and graphical settings which are nearly inexistent.