Votes: 1 2.6%
  • Smash TV

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other

Votes: 1 2.6%

• Total voters

Bonfires Down

Nov 18, 2019
I love all kinds of polls and statistics, so if there is enough interest I plan do a similar thread for each year up to present. I'm not that experienced with games from the 80s so I thought 1990 would be a good year to start with. I’m thinking I will list games by the date of their first release in the west, whether on PC, console or arcade.

Here’s my preliminary list for 1991, so please let me know if something major is missing:

Final Fantasy IV
Super Mario World
Monkey Island 2: LeChuck's Revenge
Another World
Street Fighter II
Sonic the Hedgehog
Civilization
Lemmings
Super Castlevania IV
Actraiser
Metroid 2: Return of Samus
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time
Battletoads
Road Rash

Last edited:

MegaApple

Just another Video Game Enthusiast
Sep 20, 2018
Torn between Secret of Monkey Island, Castle of Illusion, Railroad Tycoon

Reactions: ISee

Sarcastico

Nov 18, 2019
I was only 4 years old in 1990 and I only had the NES at the time so the only game I played from that list was Super Mario Bros. 3. Therefore that's my vote by default!

I'd definitely be interested in seeing other peoples' GOTY for the subsequent years.

Reactions: lashman and ISee
OP
Bonfires Down

Bonfires Down

Nov 18, 2019
I was only 4 years old in 1990 and I only had the NES at the time so the only game I played from that list was Super Mario Bros. 3. Therefore that's my vote by default!

I'd definitely be interested in seeing other peoples' GOTY for the subsequent years.
I was six so I've only played a handful of these games too 😅

Reactions: lashman and ISee

ISee

Oh_no!
Mar 1, 2019
You want me to choose between Monkey Island, Wing Commander and Ultima 6?
That's a hard one. Personally I think Ultima 7 is the better and more important Ultima.

Back then I would have probably chosen Wing Commander over Monkey Island.