|OT| The PC Hardware Thread -- Buy/Upgrade/Ask/Answer

Stevey

Gromlintroid
Dec 8, 2018
1,499
4,137
113
38
I'm thinking of upgrading my RAM from 16GB to 32GB, briefly searched on Amazon for Corsair 32GB DDR4 and it came back with a lot of results "optimized for AMD"?
Is that even a real thing?
I have an Intel 9700k
 

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
Go to your motherboard home page and have a look at the memory compatibility chart, grab some product numbers and start from there.
That's just to make sure your don't get RAM sticks with incompatible timings etc which would probably force a downclock to stock timings instead of XMP.

I've never heard of "optimized for AMD" tbh so couldn't tell you. I suspect it's a marketing thing but related to the older Ryzens and memory compatibility issues but eh, hopefully someone else can tell you. I really doubt it's going to have any problems with your Intel chipset though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stevey

didamangi

Who do you think you are? I am!
Nov 16, 2018
429
1,141
93
Jakarta, Indonesia
steamcommunity.com

d00d3n

Junior Member
Jan 26, 2019
158
230
43
What hardware component is the likely culprit behind this crashing bug on my gaming PC:

If I am just logged into the windows 10 desktop the computer stays on for weeks/months without any crashes. No recurring crashing while playing a game, even if I do so for hours.

But when quitting games, there is a recurring crashing bug where my display goes black, podcasts that are playing through a youtube window stop playing, and the computer resets after one or two minutes. The only weird aspect when quitting games that I have noted is automatic switching between HDR mode, non-HDR and a black screen in other cases, where the switching eventually stops and I get control of my computer back.

GPU issue? (non-overclocked 3090)
CPU issue? (overclocked 9900k)
RAM issue? (overclocked 16gbs of ram)
Display issue? (ROG Swift PG35VQ)
Software issue? (reinstalled windows 10 a couple of days ago for other reasons, running windows 10 desktop in hdr mode)
 

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
I'd use DDU and perform a clean GPU driver reinstall first. Just in case it's a driver issue.
 

Parsnip

Riskbreaker
Sep 11, 2018
1,411
2,741
113
Finland
Does it happen every time, or occasionally, specific games or all games?
Have you looked in the event viewer after the reset to see if there's anything useful there?
 

d00d3n

Junior Member
Jan 26, 2019
158
230
43
Does it happen every time, or occasionally, specific games or all games?
Have you looked in the event viewer after the reset to see if there's anything useful there?
It occurs occasionally, maybe 20% of game exits (or possibly slightly higher than that recently), but only in fullscreen games. It has happened in many different games, but I think all of the events have been in Steam (although I don't play many games in other launchers). Recently it has happened multiple times in It Takes Two and Horizon: Zero Dawn, the two games I have been playing recently.

I have not looked in the event viewer, but that is a good idea I guess.

The GPU driver should have been cleanly reinstalled when I reinstalled windows 10 a couple of days ago
 
  • Like
Reactions: EdwardTivrusky

Valdien

MetaMember
Mar 26, 2020
419
1,050
93
Sydney
It occurs occasionally, maybe 20% of game exits (or possibly slightly higher than that recently), but only in fullscreen games. It has happened in many different games, but I think all of the events have been in Steam (although I don't play many games in other launchers). Recently it has happened multiple times in It Takes Two and Horizon: Zero Dawn, the two games I have been playing recently.

I have not looked in the event viewer, but that is a good idea I guess.

The GPU driver should have been cleanly reinstalled when I reinstalled windows 10 a couple of days ago
Do you have auto-hdr enabled? Was this happening before Window's auto HDR update? From your description, it kinda sounds like an HDR issue. You can try disabling HDR and see if the crashes still occur in the two games you've mentioned. It could also be an Nvidia Driver bug; in that case, you'd have to wait on Nvidia to fix it.
 

d00d3n

Junior Member
Jan 26, 2019
158
230
43
Do you have auto-hdr enabled? Was this happening before Window's auto HDR update? From your description, it kinda sounds like an HDR issue. You can try disabling HDR and see if the crashes still occur in the two games you've mentioned. It could also be an Nvidia Driver bug; in that case, you'd have to wait on Nvidia to fix it.
No auto-hdr. That was why I reinstalled windows 10 actually, I did not like the test version of windows 10. It is a good idea to try to disable HDR, though.
 

Parsnip

Riskbreaker
Sep 11, 2018
1,411
2,741
113
Finland
Best case, it's a driver issue and maybe a newest or older driver will fix it. There was a nvidia drive update just yesterday. Or maybe going back a few versions could solve it.
Worst case is naturally hardware, but it's hard to say where the issue is exactly since it stalls so completely and eventually reboots your entire system.
I assume your PSU is powerful enough for the 3090 and the overclocks?

Actually turning your OC's off on CPU or RAM or both is one thing you should definitely test for a bit since it's easy and see if it helps, Wouldn't be the first time an otherwise stable overclock would cause weird issues in a highly specific scenarios.
 
  • Like
Reactions: d00d3n
OP
Durante

Durante

I <3 Pixels
Oct 21, 2018
2,113
9,515
113
The problem description and how specific the scenario is does make it seem like a software issue at the windows/driver level at first glance, but also I've seen very specific stability problems being traced back to hardware instability which only manifested in just one specific situation.

As Parsnip says, you could try disabling your OCs and maybe even lowering your 3090's power cap to see if that does anything. Of course, solving sporadic issues like this is always particularly hard since it's difficult to tell if your changes actually made a difference.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Parsnip and d00d3n

TheTrain

Junior Member
Jun 11, 2019
245
795
93
Alright, it's that time of the year again. I've to upgrade, this time its also a big upgrade. Its been 4 years that I don't touch anything...almost.
So, actually I've an I7 6700K, 1080Ti, 32GB DDR4. I want to change everything because one way or another I'll have a bottleneck somewhere.
I was looking for an AMD build with a nvidia gpu:
CPU: Ryzen 9 5900X
GPU: 3090 or 3080Ti
Mobo: MSI MEG X570 Unify (I want a mobo with bluetooth, at least 2 slot M.2 NVME)
Ali: At least 850W (I've a Corsair with 650W at the moment, its not enough. I've also 1 HDD, 1 Sata SSD and 1 M.2 at the moment)
RAM: I'll use the 32GB that I've already in this build
What do you say?
 

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
Final Mouse are launching their new mouse "Legendary" on May 1st for $189.
Dread to think how much shipping and customs will be. Still i'll keep an eye on it as i'm always looking at funky mice and other input devices even if i'm not going to buy them.


  • 37 Grams & Next generation wireless
  • The Starlight-12 Chassis composed of Magnesium Alloy, the lightest Structural Metal on Earth
  • Latency Speeds faster than any wired/wireless mouse in existence
  • 2 Months of battery life
 

gabbo

MetaMember
Dec 22, 2018
2,363
3,682
113
Toronto
Is it worth to upgrade my ryzen 1600 to a ryzen 3600? It's at 194€ right now
I'd say go for it if your 1600 is not keeping you at the level of performance you want, but I also dont know if you'd need a new mobo to take advantage or not. I guess, does your budget justify the jump?

Month two of waiting in the queue for a series 30x GPU. They've moved me up by one pip in the last month. Progress? Who knows.

See y'all in May, I guess.

What store/site is that?
 

Kvik

Crossbell City Councillor
Dec 6, 2018
2,575
5,829
113
Downunder.
What store/site is that?
PLE Computers, an Australian-based shop. It has the lowest price for this particular EVGA card (still marked up $200 AUD above SRP though).

 

Parsnip

Riskbreaker
Sep 11, 2018
1,411
2,741
113
Finland
I ordered one 18tb hdd yesterday. RIP my wallet.
Going to see about possibly retiring some of my oldest and smallest drives. Or maybe I'll move them to an external thing and put them in raid. Or something.
 

NarohDethan

日本語の学生
Apr 6, 2019
5,736
13,639
113
For some reason, some days, my Aorus Elite mobo has this red LED turned on. On the manual it says there's an issue with 'VGA', but I do have video signal on my monitor. When I reboot the light goes away. It doesn't happen every time, but I've never be able to find out why this happens. I'm sure I've seen this issue with another Gigabyte mobo I used to own.
 

gabbo

MetaMember
Dec 22, 2018
2,363
3,682
113
Toronto
For some reason, some days, my Aorus Elite mobo has this red LED turned on. On the manual it says there's an issue with 'VGA', but I do have video signal on my monitor. When I reboot the light goes away. It doesn't happen every time, but I've never be able to find out why this happens. I'm sure I've seen this issue with another Gigabyte mobo I used to own.
Have you tried unplugging the GPU and reseating it in the mobo?
 

fearthedawn

Junior Member
Apr 19, 2019
126
223
43
For some reason, some days, my Aorus Elite mobo has this red LED turned on. On the manual it says there's an issue with 'VGA', but I do have video signal on my monitor. When I reboot the light goes away. It doesn't happen every time, but I've never be able to find out why this happens. I'm sure I've seen this issue with another Gigabyte mobo I used to own.
I've seen this issue when the monitor is switched off while powering on the pc, turn the monitor on first and see if it's "solved" this way.
 

Le Pertti

0,60% PC Gamer 100% Xbox Bro
Oct 10, 2018
4,923
10,252
113
42
Paris, France
perttiteurajarvi.com
Leaving external drives plugged in, is that good or bad for the drive? I have both a SSD and a regular one, the SSD I will have plugged in always but thinking I could leave the other one plugged in also.
 

Parsnip

Riskbreaker
Sep 11, 2018
1,411
2,741
113
Finland
I was actually looking at how much I could get for my 1070 few days ago.
The problem I would then obviously have is that it's my only GPU since I gave my old 970 to my brother. :D
 

d00d3n

Junior Member
Jan 26, 2019
158
230
43
Any recommendations for a 4k display (preferrably VA, gsync/freesync compatible, flicker free and 31.5 inches or larger) for office and media use? I have a separate display/computer for gaming and browsing in my living room
 

Joe Spangle

I lurk and I like.
Apr 17, 2019
1,510
4,591
113
Hi. I wonder if anyone could offer some advice on an issue my cousin is having with his PC. He said that the other day the kids were using it and there was a bit of a pop noise and the whole thing powered off so im guessing that the PSU has failed for some reason (maybe a surge?).

Anyhoo he has tried to install a new PSU and now when he turns it on it powers up for a second or two and then the power will cut out and it will keep doing this. Doesnt get far enough to post.

I thought maybe the PSU doesn't have enough juice but its 450w and should be enough for his system.

Any thoughts on what it could be? Cheers.

EDIT - False alarm! I video called him and we checked out the cables etc and he got rid of about a bucket of dust and its now its booting to windows so maybe it was a cable not properly attached or some dust in the connections, its working now so phew.
 
Last edited:

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
I'd get them to recheck the cabling, pull out the gfx card if there is one, test the PSU on another PC if possible.
It could be the power surge has blown something on the motherboard too. Ask them to give the motherboard and PC components a look to see if there's any obvious scorching or bulging caps etc.
 

Joe Spangle

I lurk and I like.
Apr 17, 2019
1,510
4,591
113
I'd get them to recheck the cabling, pull out the gfx card if there is one, test the PSU on another PC if possible.
It could be the power surge has blown something on the motherboard too. Ask them to give the motherboard and PC components a look to see if there's any obvious scorching or bulging caps etc.
Yeah cheers, turns out it looks like it was a cable not quite attached properly (or maybe some dust in the connection). Hes got it working now but thanks for the response.
 
  • Like
Reactions: EdwardTivrusky

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
WooHoo! That's great! Always worth reseating things and checking the cabling before hitting the beers at the thought of spending more money.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Joe Spangle
OP
Durante

Durante

I <3 Pixels
Oct 21, 2018
2,113
9,515
113
SATA mode is only as fast (or relatively slow) as traditional SATA SSDs are.
PCIe mode can be up to 8 times faster, and also lower latency. You really want PCIe mode.

Also, most M.2 SSDs you buy today are PCIe.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stevey

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
ROG Strix Z390-F Gaming features dual M.2 slots. One slot supports both SATA and PCIe 3.0 x4 modes, and the other slot supports PCIe 3.0 x4 for NVMe. Together, they give you the fastest and most-flexible M.2 interface available.
M.2 SSD drives come in two flavours SATA and NVMe and NVMe is the newer, faster protocol but is usually more expensive.
Basically your board will support both SATA or NVMe in one slot and the other slot only supports NVMe drives.

edit: That'll teach me to leave a reply in the reply box and post without refreshing the page! lol.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stevey

gabbo

MetaMember
Dec 22, 2018
2,363
3,682
113
Toronto
question for you all. When it comes to pre-builts ,it is mainly the motherboards that cause people to stay away?
Have been looking at some (even used) because I don't need top of the line for what I'm looking to build, and I can pick up some decent hp/dell/etc for cheap, but theyre all prebuilt (can't beat $99 CAD for mobo/cpu)

I'd basically get rid of everything but the mobo and cpu, but I worry it'd be a fools errand because of this.
 

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
gabbo If you can find a decent big name prebuilt system for cheap and can use it without too many changes they're usually a bargain.
However, the problem with big name prebuilt systems like HP/Dell/Lenovo etc is that they sometimes use proprietary connectors, limit power levels and just have odd design decisions to stop people doing exactly what you plan to do.

We've had HP machines that you couldn't swap anything apart from drives and RAM due to various motherboard or component changes they made. So it's not just off the shelf components you can just swap over. Check what model you're looking at and see if there's any changes they've made that will spoil your plans.

Though i think OEMs have been better about this in recent years it's still something to check.
 

EdwardTivrusky

See You Hyper-Toxic Computer Cowboy
Dec 8, 2018
3,621
7,112
113
Stevey Oooooh, look at you with your 1TB NVMe! Nice!
Holy Crap those prices have dropped! I had to settle for the 250gb Samsung 970 NVMe drive at the time i built my current PC a few years ago.

I only use it for my OS and i don't install many apps so it's not a huge issue for me. I also have a couple of SSD drives for games and media etc so i can keep the OS drive relatively clean.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Stevey

gabbo

MetaMember
Dec 22, 2018
2,363
3,682
113
Toronto
gabbo If you can find a decent big name prebuilt system for cheap and can use it without too many changes they're usually a bargain.
However, the problem with big name prebuilt systems like HP/Dell/Lenovo etc is that they sometimes use proprietary connectors, limit power levels and just have odd design decisions to stop people doing exactly what you plan to do.

We've had HP machines that you couldn't swap anything apart from drives and RAM due to various motherboard or component changes they made. So it's not just off the shelf components you can just swap over. Check what model you're looking at and see if there's any changes they've made that will spoil your plans.

Though i think OEMs have been better about this in recent years it's still something to check.
Good to know I'll look into it further, as that would certainly be a hindrance. thank you for the heads up.